Tags

The Selena Gomez Book Tag

Although I’m not well-acquainted with Selena Gomez’s music, this was a super fun tag, and who knows, it might serve as an excuse to finally listen to some of her music and see what I think of it. So thank you so much Angele @ Angele Reads Books for tagging me, go check out her gorgeous blog for some great content!

The Rules:

  • Thank the person who tagged you and leave a link to their blog.
  • Mention the creator of the tag: Nehal @ Books and Words
  • Answer the prompts.
  • Tag at least 5 people.
  • Just have fun!

Love You Like a Love Song: A romance novel that is cliché but you still love it

Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

I really had no expectations for this book as it had been sitting on my TBR for years, but I was pleasantly surprised when I finally decided to read it. It’s a super cute road-trip romance that touches on some more serious topics. The romance is definitely cliché, with some fantastic tropes (there was only one bed!! gosh, so good). It truly is so so sweet and overall a great time.

Rare: A book with a female protagonist unlike any other

Circe from Circe by Madeline Miller

This book truly dives deep into the inner thoughts of the protagonist. It’s a much more immersive experience than many other books, and because of this we get to know the protagonist more thoroughly. Despite this not being my favourite book, it’s really well-written and a fantastic character study.

Look at her now: A character who suffered a lot (physically/mentally) but eventually recovered and is now at the better end of life

Inej Ghafa from Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Inej has truly had a rough life, but she overcomes everything and eventually comes out on top. That’s not to say her life is easy now, but she has regained power over herself and is now living her life on her own terms. Her outlook on life is probably a huge asset, she remains positive without being naive.

Wolves: A book that got you out of a reading slump

Call Me By Your Name by André Aciman

This is a slightly controversial one, but it is the truth. This pulled me out of one of my longer reading slumps — they’re usually not too long, but this one lasted about a month. Then I started this audiobook on a whim and I finished it in two days. It’s an easy, fast read that doesn’t require a lot of concentration, and it worked for me.

It ain’t me: A character you used to like but not anymore

Celaena Sardothien (or whatever her name is) from Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Sixteen-year-old me thought she was cool and maybe even a bit badass. But after a failed reread two years ago, at the age of twenty two, I just think she is extremely annoying.

Feel me: A character you can’t bear to see with anyone else but you

Adam Parrish from The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater

This was really hard because I’m not usually possessive of characters. However, there are a few characters that I feel protective of, and I won’t tolerate any slander of them. Adam is one of those, and he’s probably the one who gets the most hate. I’ll admit I didn’t love him at first, but his character development (which is what people overlook) was exquisite and he’s become one of my all-time favourites.

Same Old Love: A book with an unoriginal and unrealistic romance

Tell Me How You Really Feel by Aminah Mae Safi

I truly had to squeeze my brain for this one. Unfortunately, this book was hugely disappointment for me, and the romance was part of it. One of the protagonists was just so mean and I couldn’t get on board. I’m usually all for enemies to lovers, put this was executed poorly in my opinion.

The heart wants what it wants: A book you regret finishing because you miss reading it a lot

I Wish You All the Best by Mason Deaver

I had such a great time reading this, but I loved it so much that I read it all in a day. Pacing myself is apparently impossible when I’m so hooked on a story as I was with this.

Back to you: A book you read again and again even though you have other books on your TBR pile

Young Avengers (2013) by Kieron Gillen

Although I’m not big on rereading — I’ve just started rereading books recently — I keep re-visiting this comic run. I love the Young Avengers so much that rereading this run never fails to put me in a good mood. The fact that it’s a comic series also helps, because it’s very fast to get through.

Hit the Lights: A book that just made you forget everything else

A Dowry of Blood by S.T. Gibson

I couldn’t focus on anything else while I was reading this. I spent every waking moment with my eyes stuck on this. In fact, I remember reading it until my eyes hurt and begrudgingly putting it down and going to bed. Needless to say, I absolutely adored it.

Tell me something I don’t know: A book people keep recommending you which you already have in it in your TBR pile

Ace of Spades by Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé 

My “TBR” works very weirdly, but that’s a topic for another time. But everyone has been raving about this book, and I definitely want to pick it up as soon as possible.

I can’t get enough: A series/world you just want more and more of

The Shadowhunter Chronicles by Cassandra Clare

What can I say? I’m basic like that. I’ve been reading these books for half my life and I can’t imagine that at one point she’ll stop writing them. Are they perfect? Of course not, but they’ve shaped me quite a lot through the years so I feel very attached to this world.


I tag:

As always, please do not feel obliged to do it if you don’t want to, but I’d love reading your answers if you do!

  1. Amanda @ Bookish Brews
  2. Ahaana @ Windows to Worlds
  3. Line @ First Line Reader
  4. Belle @ This Belle Reads Too
  5. Lay @ Bookshelf Soliloquies

22 thoughts on “The Selena Gomez Book Tag

      1. Oh I love that you love Måneskin! I watched them on Eurovision and fell in love with their song.

        Also, kpop 😍 I only got into it this year but honestly I’m hooked. Who are your favourite artists? I feel like we might have some fangirl moments here haha 😂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I love reading your answers! I’m so happy to see A Dowry of Blood on your list, because I totally feel the same. I’m actually also surprised to see your fondness of Adam Parrish, since I’m not a huge fan of him lol. I’m more of a Gansey sucker lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for doing my tag!! Unfortunately, I did not get the pingback somehow 😅. I loved reading your answers! I have been meaning to read Circe and The Raven Boys since a very long time but never gone around to reading them, haha. Hope to do it soon!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment