Discussion

To read or not to read? // DNFing Books

Today I really wanted to talk about DNFing books. However, this post might turn out to be more of a rant than anything, so you’ve been warned.


For a while now I thought I had learnt how to DNF books—if I didn’t like a book before I just pushed through it, because leaving it unfinished didn’t feel right—but it turns out that I’ve just got really good at choosing what books to read. Because of this, I haven’t had the urge to DNF in a while. Moreover, there have been some books that I’ve disliked but I’ve wanted, or had, to finish for some reason or another:

  • Books that were super short
  • Books that I was reading for a readathon
  • Or books that were review copies

Whatever the reason, I haven’t DNFed a book in a very long time (I actually couldn’t tell you how long because I don’t keep track of my DNFs). For this reason, I wrongly thought I had gotten good at DNFing when in reality I haven’t.

Some books I actually remember DNFing:

I recently started a book that I’m having a hard time with and I still haven’t DNFed it because I feel bad about it. The book in question is The Gilded Wolves. I think part of the reason why I’m so reluctant to DNF it is because I wanted to love this—and there’s definitely a difference between DNFing a book you’re absolutely hating and DNFing a book that you’re mostly indifferent about. So with this one it’s not that I dislike it, on the contrary, I think the concept is fantastic and right up my alley, and the magic system is extremely complex and interesting, but I just can’t seem to get immersed in the story. I started this back in May and I’ve had it on hold since then. The thing is that I’m more than halfway through so I know I can slowly pull through and finish it but, do I want to when there are so many other books I want to read?

I’m writing all of this but I know that in this particular case I will probably try and finish it, because I’m bitter and lowkey mad at myself for not enjoying what seemed like the perfect book for me. My gut feeling doesn’t usually let me down, so I’m disappointed. Additionally, I know this will probably be a 2,5 to 3 stars which is not bad, so why not try to enjoy some of its bits?

However, if we’re talking in general, when should we DNF? And why is it so hard to do at times even when we’re not enjoying a book? I know for a fact that there are some books that I read and I would have benefited from DNFing. Books that, to other people, might have been fantastic, but to me were—to put it plainly—a waste of time and energy.

Some of those include:

All in all, I am aware that it’s not that deep, but since I know that this is a problem many readers face, I wanted to talk about it. The only conclusion I can come to is that for me there’s not really a solution. I just have to trust that the next time I’m reading something I don’t enjoy I won’t overthink and simply let it go.

Do you find DNFing books hard? How and when do you decide that you’re going to DNF a book?

23 thoughts on “To read or not to read? // DNFing Books

  1. I don’t DNF a lot either. I guess I feel that I’ve invested time in the book, so I might as well just spend a couple hours more and finish it, but I COULD DNF the book and spend that time doing something I actually like so. . .

    I DNF’ed Leviathan, too, though! I don’t think Westerfeld has written anything I really like besides the Uglies series.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Although I used to hate DNFing, over the years I’ve learnt to just accept the fact that sometimes it’s better to abandon a book than continue with it. Nowadays I DNF a book as soon as it makes me feel uncomfortable or if I’m simply not enjoying any aspect the story, and I like to tell myself that I can always pick it back up in a couple of weeks/months if I change my mind!
    Funnily enough, I actually DNFed Shadow & Bone 3/4 years ago but picked it back up this year so I could watch the TV show and found it wasn’t as bad as I remembered 😅

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is so relatable! 😂 I am notoriously bad at DNFing things. Like, seriously, I think the only times I’ve ever done it is when the books in question were so boring that I still hadn’t finished reading them by the time my library loan ran out… And even then, I don’t count them as DNFed. Despite it having been years, I am still convinced I will eventually check them out again to read the rest.

    I’m not sure what the problem is, exactly. I think part of me just wants to know how a story ends, no matter how little I’m enjoying it. And after already investing so much time into it, I want to at least be able to say I read the book! If it’s horrible, at least I’ll still get to rant about it to my friends and on my blog. And then I always feel stupidly accomplished if I powered through and read the book despite hating it. Even though, theoretically, I know I could be putting the time to much better use by reading something I like instead.

    And if I actually bought the book myself, it’s a million times worse. I will not have unread books on my shelves! So I will push through, even if I’m about to fall asleep from boredom 😂

    (If it makes you feel any better though – I also didn’t like The Gilded Wolves and have no clue why. The premise, characters, and setting were all so interesting, but I never connected with any of it 🙈)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly, it feels like I need to finish them because most times when I think about DNFing I’m already half-way through, and what’s the point of not finishing it?

      Also, your point about wanting to know how the story end no matter what is too relatable—I once had a friend tell me in detail what happened in a tv show I had watched one episode from and had no intention of continuing just because I wanted to know how it ended. I’m also known for reading/watching spoiler-filled book reviews of series I don’t want to continue reading 😂

      Oh god, if I buy them and don’t like them I’ll be so mad at myself…

      I’m glad I’m not the only one not enjoying TGW. Everything sounded great but I’m not sure what it is (perhaps the writing style?) that doesn’t let me immerse myself in the story and it just seems dull.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh, I’ve totally looked up summaries of TV shows I intended to abandon online, so I feel you there! 😂 And of course spoiler-filled book reviews are the best, especially if the person making them also wasn’t a huge fan and I get to listen to them rant 😁

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I love this kind of discussions, I totally understand your position, in my case it was not easy DNFing books when I first started with the blog because I felt like a responsibility of having to give my fair opinion about it, but then with time I’ve been relaxing and realized that the most important thing about reading is just enjoying the process, you know? So, now if I’m not really enjoying it, I don’t try too hard and just leave it, no guilt at all, time is precious and I think it’s better to use it reading something that you’re really enjoying. 🥰

    Sometimes I do pushed myself a little more because I have hopes that the book will improve by certain factors, but if that doesn’t happen quickly, then it’s not worth it ☺️👏🏻✨

    Liked by 1 person

  5. It’s so hard for me to DNF books, because I always think there’s A CHANCE that I may end up liking a book…but most of the time I should have DNF’d them because I end up really not liking them. For example I definitely should have DNF’d Shadow and Bone 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  6. The DNF struggle is eternal for me too! :’) Though I do think I have got better at it, there are also outside influences that impact my willingness (like library due dates, for example!), so perhaps it’s not that I’ve got better at all, and just that I’m more often in the mindset for it.
    I remember considering DNFing The Gilded Wolves too, because though I had enjoyed the first quarter or so a lot, soon I was getting annoyed at things. And the ending really annoyed me too 😐 But I still ended up giving it 3 stars, I think, which isn’t a bad rating, as you say.
    This is such an interesting post – I especially love how you mention that you have got better at picking books you know you’ll like – I think that’s a point that’s often overlooked!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. After struggling way more than need be, I ended up DNFing it and giving it 2,5-3 stars. I really gave it a fair shot but there wasn’t really compelling me to go back to this story.
      The fact that I learnt to pick what I’ll like is the main factor why I don’t DNF often, so I certainly had to mention it! Glad you enjoyed the post!

      Like

Leave a comment